Neon tetra white spot's

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Dee90

Reaction score
Hi there.
Im new to this aquarium life.
I just wanted to no how i can stop my neon tetra fish from catching the white spot disease......
Can anyone please help me????!!!

Hi there, Dee, welcome to the forum :)

Do your neons have white spot now, or are you just worried about it for the future?

Would you mind giving us some details of your set up, so we can spot any potential problems? The size of the tank, how long it's been running, how many and what kinds of fish you have, and the results of any water tests you've done would all help :)

http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/paracheirodon-innesi/ some important information about your fish that you should read there.

and as far as whitespot (the propper name is ich)

Ich is so widespread that many experts feel that it is present in the environment of most aquariums, especially in larger holding tanks, rearing ponds of breeders, collectors, and wholesalers. In fact, just about every aquarium fish will come into contact with this protozoan at several times in its life. Because it is so widespread, most fish have developed a good immune response against the disease to allow them to fight off the protozoan infection before it ever causes any symptoms. Captive fish that develop ich usually get the disease when their immune systems are not functioning as well as they should be because of stress. We know that stress lowers the immune response and when fish are stressed that is when ich is most prevalent.