Need Advice. Will This Tank Fit These Fish?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

matthayden

Reaction score
Ive recently been gifted 3 Mollies and 2 Angelfish as a present, all of which are very young. I currently have them in a 20L tank as it was the only one I had, yet I know I need a bigger tank.
Im new to aquariums and am looking to buy an aquarium that comes with built in filter and heater etc. I preferably still want a small, cheap, low maintenance aquarium. Im currently looking at the AquaNano 40 as it is a nice size and comes with heater, filter, and light. It holds 55L, and I can find it for $170 AUD which is around the price im looking at.
Is this tank large enough, or what other possible cheap aquariums are there I should look into?
Thanks.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Angelfish need a tank that is at least 3 feet long, preferably longer.

Tanks with built in filters are not always that easy to maintain when compared to a normal aquarium and separate filter. They usually cost more than a basic tank and filter too.

Mollies require hard alkaline water, whereas angelfish like soft neutral to slightly acid water. These 2 types of fish are best kept in separate tanks due to their different water requirements.

I concur. Neither the mollies nor the angelfish will manage in a 55 liter (15 gallons). You need at least a 3-foot (90cm) tank for the mollies (they will or should attain 4, 5 and even 6 inches and aside from the area they need the water volume as being vegetarian they do impact the biology).