Nano Iwagumi Planted "serene".. That's The Goal!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

fishmad135

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hey Guys!

Got another new project starting today! My goal is to make a nano iwagumi tank using dragon rock (Can't get enough of this stuff!). This is my first venture into iwagumi style tanks, anybody got any tips?

My tank and hard set up is:
- 22Litre Aquanano
- JBL Pro Scape Plant Soil
- Dennerle DeponitMix Nano (For capping the soil)
- 3 Dragon Rocks (The Oyaishi, Fukuishi and the Soeishi rocks)

I'm not sure how to layout my rocks so I'll have a play about..!
fish.gif

fish.gif

Awesome. Sounds cool. I suggest using a carpet plant, I am using glosso for mine. (It's still carpeting though). Where did you get the rocks and the tank? I'm a noob at this.

Thanks cooledwhip! I'm thinking a hemianthus carpet with some taller plants in the background. I went to Ings Lane garden centre, a store near my student house! Me being the muppet I am, left the bagged plants on the counter of the store when I left so I'm going to have to collect them later..
whistling.gif

Here's the pieces of dragon rock (and Hemianthus pot and DepontiMix..)
IMG_0090_2.jpg

And heres some pictures of the setup I'm thinking, the difference between the two photos is the orientation of the front smallest rock. Excuse my face in the reflection. 
Setup one:
IMG_0085_2.jpg

Setup two:
IMG_0088_2.jpg

What do you guys think?

After summoning my fen shui spirit guide, we agree that the smaller rock at the back should be moved to the left, almost to the bottom of the hill

I agree. If you are putting a background plant, have it to from largest rock to smallest rock. Also try to make the grain (thats how I refer to it, I'm sure it's just the direction of points of the rock) all face the same way. Some of the edges face up and some are left/right in this pic.

cooledwhip said: