my Scalaria fish is sick: please help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Nik1i

Reaction score
Hello,
Since few days one of my scalaria fish started acting strange while all my other fish are ok.
It started swimming sideways a week ago and it started getting better so i decided to wait a bit and see if it will get better and now since few days started getting worse, it started to bend and now it stays all the time at the bottom of the aquarium. I checked on the web but I could not find any similar cases.
I'm new in the fish world.
If someone can help it will be appreciated,

thank you.

the aquarium is 300litters I have plants and air system.
I feed my fish with worms and dry food.

if you need more info please ask.
I attached few pictures of the fish hope this will help

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    321.3 KB · Views: 101
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    322.9 KB · Views: 94
What other fish do you have in the tank?

Have you tested the water at all, and is your water hard or soft?

First thing to do would be a large water change; at least 50%, making sure the new water is warmed and dechlorinated. Fresh, clean water is first aid for fish.

Do you know the common name of the fish? I have no idea what a scalaria fish is and it's hard to tell from the pics (can't see the head).

If it was swimming funny before and it continued to worsen, it might be a swim bladder problem. Either way, I would be doing the 50% water change asap. Are there any other abnormalities? Did the fish stop eating a while ago? How long have you had it and how often do you do water changes?

What other fish do you have in the tank?

Have you tested the water at all, and is your water hard or soft?

First thing to do would be a large water change; at least 50%, making sure the new water is warmed and dechlorinated. Fresh, clean water is first aid for fish.