My New 90/115L Freshwater Journal - Any Suggestions Welcome!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

racheltipp

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm relatively new to this fish thing and am currently 15 years old in Australia :)

I figured the best way to get started would be to introduce myself to a bunch of people educated on the matter! So for starters here's the basics, 
  • About 1 or 2 months ago my grandpa sprung two tanks upon my 12 year old sister and I. With the help of the internet, my dad (who has owned fish in the past) and my seemingly well educated grandpa we managed to get things worked out and so far so good (I guess). 
  • The tanks were exactly the same to begin with and my grandpa had set them up for us - 13L freshwater heated tank, 1x betta, 4x golden white cloud minnow, 1x peppered corydoras. As with all tanks there have been some casualties (possibly because I was unprepared which I feel very bad about, I just didn't have the time to get informed before I was given the tank) and my sister lost 2 of her minnows (leaving her other two a bit lonely) and I have lost 1 minnow and the betta (unknown cause, potentially a previous illness after we asked several fish experts). 
  • YES, the tanks were overstocked which is why we are hoping to set up new tanks with better information! I am really enjoying getting into this fish hobby and I would to do good by my fish, not how my grandpa had previously set it up. However, I would appreciate any opinions you guys have because I hope to start setting up the tank in my upcoming school holidays (my sister will be doing the same with hers with the help of my dad, although her fish choices etc. will be quite different I'm guessing) because I feel as though I need to slow down and get the basics first. I know about the nitrogen cycle etc. although I still need to read more but that's enough random information for you and now I'll get onto the actual fish stuff.