My First Tropical Aquarium

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

ravkular

Reaction score
Hi Everybody,

I am new to this so please go easy on me!

Firstly i want to say thanks to everybody as i have found this site extremely helpful so far.

I have a 35 Litre rectangular (50cm x 25 x 30) tropical aquaruim, with a lamp, filter, 50 Watt Heater, air pump, with air stone,
gravel, and two ornaments - a meduim sized ship with hiding places and a litle shark.

We have had the tank filled now for a week, and have treated the water with nutrafin cycle, and nutrafin aquaplus. We will add a real plant once we get the fish.

We are hoping to get our first fishes this weekend, depending on the results of the water test.

We would like to eventually have the following fish in the aquarium. We would like none of the fish to be any bigger than 2.5-3 inches.

2 x Mollies - 1 x Male (Orange), 1 x Female (White)
2 x Swordtails - 1 x Male, 1 x Female
1 x Male Siamesse Fighting Fish
1 x Cat Fish
6 x Neon Tetra

My questions are as follows,

1) is our tank big enough for all of the fish?
2) are all of the fish Compatible to live in the comunity?
3) in which order should i introduce the fish, and how long should i wait before introducing the next set?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Anyone can advice? I am a newbie too and is constantly looking out for helpful information.

Hi,
To choose the right fish, you need to have a look at the water. Some fish prefer very soft and acid water, other hard and alkaline. Put in the wrong water, they won´t thrieve as well, are proun to disease and die early. As it is not that easy to change the water parameters you get with your tap water, go for fish that like your tap water, and that are all happy with the same temperature.
Have a look at the species-index section, it will tell you all about their needs. Most fish mentioned by ravkular grow bigger than 3 inch, and are too big for just 35l.