My Betta is a little off

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SarahB92612

Reaction score
So I am new to the fish tank world, I recently got a 10 gallon tank and 1 male Betta, 1 male swordtail and 1 female guppy(i think, the guy at the local non chain pet store did not know anything about any of the fish). Anyways my Betta has developed 2 lines on both gills and he is constantly holding all of his fins as straight as possible never letting them just flow. Any ideas on what's going on?

How long have you had them?
Is your tank cycled?
Is your tank filtered?
What is the water temp?
Any plants in it?
Do you know your water parameters? Ammonia Nitrite and Nitrate?
Do you know your waters PH, KH,GH?
Can you provide a photo of the fish?

Now for the bad news, Guppies and Sword tails are social fish and need more of their kind say at least 3 of each, My suggestion would be to take the Guppy and Sword tail back to the shop.

Oh and BTW
You female Guppy could be pregnant most Live bearer females are when you buy them.

Are his fins and the stripes like this?
No, they are straight up and down on his gills only. 2 on each gill.
Is your tank cycled?
Is your tank filtered?
What is the water temp?
Any plants in it?

Now for the bad news, Guppies and Sword tails are social fish and need more of their kind say at least 3 of each, My suggestion would be to take the Guppy and Sword tail back to the shop.

Oh and BTW
You female Guppy could be pregnant most Live bearer females are when you buy them.

My tank is filtered, there are no plants and the temperature is 72°F, I do not know the answer to the rest of your questions because either I don't know what it means or I don't know how to tell
I hate to take the fish back to that grimey place, maybe I could take them somewhere better.

Attachments

• 1484013977027177650335.jpg
    1484013977027177650335.jpg
    469.6 KB · Views: 217