Mollies & Pregnancy!

ColeyWoley85

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Evening All, I am a newbie here looking for help and saying HEY! 

Ok, So a bit about why i'm here ((Yawn))

We set up a tropical tank around 1 month ago made it a peaceful community. Guppies, Mollies etc
So feeding time yesterday my other half pops his head over the tank to drop in the food and sees a small black thing swimming about. Turns out we have a baby! Problem is we have no idea where from, if there is or were more and they have been eaten!! TBH we had no idea we would end up with Babies but little dude is proof, So we have popped him in our 'nursery' tank and trying to figure out is there more, who dropped the lil fella and what not. 
Then we noticed a white molly with a very black spot at her back end! Its very clear and cant be missed (somehow we did whoops) 
I have some pics which i will pop on as soon as i find my data cable but basically i have 2 mollys both white. 1 is rounded and bigger than any other molly but no gravid spot, keeps laying at the bottom of the tank and chasing away anybody who dares come close then theres the 1 with the large gravid spot((??)) but she has barely any weight on her and looks totally normal bar the large black bit!
Question is could 1 be poregnant without Gravid Spot and the other without a bulging belly?? 

Edit! The one with black spot is being chased constantly by guppies and mollies!! Poor thing isnt being left alone

Hi there, gravid spot isn't proof of being pregnant. I have 3 week old guppy fry, the females have gravid spots. I find it usually indicates female. Near the end of the pregnancy however, the gravid spot becomes bigger.
My platy never gets a gravid spot but already dropped one batch of fry and is about to drop a 2nd!

When you say you set it up a month ago-did you cycle the tank? I find that mollies do better in an established tank-just my experience since I lost a few when I didn't know about cycling.