Missing Guppy?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Jenn09

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am new to the forum and needed someone with fish experience to ask a few questions. I have very little experience with fish myself and want to keep my fish happy and healthy

This may not seem like an emergency to some of you but I am quite concerned!

I am a new fish owner. I purchased a beautiful blue Betta from petsmart just 5 days ago. I wanted to put more than one fish in our tank and the lady assisting me told me that guppies made good tank companions for Betta's because they are tropical and are smaller and less flashy than the Betta. So my husband and I also got 3 male yellow guppies and 3 male orange guppies. They are considerably smaller than our Betta and have done wonderful the past few days.

Today when I got home from class around noon, I checked on the fish and noticed the Betta was somewhat chasing one of the yellow male guppies around the tank. He finally stopped and I left them alone and started studying. This afternoon when I went back to feed the fish around 8pm one of the yellow guppies was missing. My husband and I took out the filter and checked there, we looked in the small log we have that the fish can swim in as well as the plants. We can't find him anywhere! There is a lid on the tank and the only opening is on top of the filter. I would think this opening would be too small for the fish to jump out of. We still checked everywhere around the tank to see if perhaps it did jump and no sign of a fish anywhere.

Could my Betta have eaten the little guppy? It doesn't seem like the Betta has a big enough stomach to hold the little thing. Also could he have done it in just a short 8 hour span. There are no fins or particles of the fish anywhere.