Low light 2.5 gal betta tank plant suggestions?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Anonymous Comment

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to freshwater tanks, so I decided to go pretty much as easy possible and get a betta. I have a 2.5 gal aquarium with an led light and planted tank substrate. I'm looking for suggestions of easy care low light plants that would work well for my tank.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Hi, 2.5g really isn't big enough for a betta - they need at least 5g.

yea mate sorry but 2.5 gal is to small. also a 5 gal is much easier to maintain as there will be smaller fluctuations in NO 2, ammonia, etc. it is also easier to work with and filter.

I've heard that, but all my research says 5 gal is preferred, but a 2.5 is fine if you keep up on water quality.

yes it is 'fine' but not recommended. anyway one could do grassy plants particularly the small ones as well as mosses. im not to sure about adding slightly taller ones as a 2.5 gal does not have much space at all to give them enough space to grow.

2.5 gal is too small for a betta! They need at least a 5 gallon tank!
Some live plants I know for freshwater tanks are:
Java moss
Java Moss is one of the most common plants in a tank. It’s low-maintenance, difficult to kill, and grows quickly.

If you attach it to a rock, it’ll crawl over the surface of your tank. it has been known to float, so it’s best advised to attach it to something to prevent any float-away.

Appearance: Low, carpetlike growth pattern. Appears ‘fuzzy’.
Water Preferences: Tolerates anything between 72-90 degrees Farenheight. Growth is fastest around 73 degrees.
Lighting Preferences: Grows well in any lighting. However, growth is fastest in medium-high lighting conditions.
Uses: Decoration, substrate covering and stabilization, carpeting, protection, and breeding of certain types of fish.

Dwarf baby tears: