Lighting question - clueless!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

squidneh

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I have a 20 gallon long, so it is a pretty shallow tank. I have this light for it and would like to use it if possible.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07788TVG9/?tag=ff0d01-20

I realize it may not be the best light for growing plants - but since I already have it I would like to try to make it work. It says it has 36 .5 watt LEDs. So that means 18 watts. I've never used LED lighting before (was my sister's set up) so I'm not sure how sufficient it will be for growing plants. I potentially could purchase a second one for the tank if that would help.

If I was using this light, what type of lighting would I have? Low? Too low for plants? Wrong type of lighting? Sorry, I'm clueless about this LED stuff. I did okay with my T8 set up when I had my big tank, but mostly by luck.

Should I be considering using fertilizers or root tabs?

Thanks in advance!

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
This is not particularly good light for freshwater planted tanks. Some shade/slow-growing plants might manage with a struggle, but I would not expect it.

First problem is spectrum. The colour temperature of light is measured in degrees Kelvin. The lower the K the "warmer" (meaning, more red, less blue in the light mix) the light, while the higher the K the "cooler" (meaning more blue, less red). Mid-day sun is in the 6000K range. So this light is 10,000K which is very cool, and actinic is the same. This light is good for marine tanks with corals.

Plants need red and blue light to drive photosynthesis, and of the two, red is the more important. Adding green to the red and blue improves things. Light with a K between 5000K and 7000K will provide this; many "daylight" tubes/bulbs have 6500K which is good light.

The second thing is intensity, but without the right spectrum this will tend to induce algae.