Keeping A Tank Without The Fish?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

lowee

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am currently in the process of completely re-doing my tank. I will be completely emptying it and getting rid of everything. But i wont be getting the new tank running for at least a month. And i would like to keep 50% of the current tank water for the new tank and some of the gravel (to save cycling it). In the mean time i am getting rid of my fish, plants and anything else in there. Will i be able to keep my tank water OK for a month without fish or plants?

Thanks

Hi, i think as long as the filter is on, it will be fine. Stagnent water is bad. At the end, do a decent partial water change though :)

I'm no expert by any means, but thats my beliefs. (after keeping fish for 7 years)

Paul.

I would say with a good filter there is no need

I would say with a good filter there is no need

The water doesn't make a lot of difference, the gravel makes a tiny bit of difference if you added fish within a day or so.

Without fish in the tank, the tank WILL uncycle. With no ammonia source in the tank, the beneficial bacteria have no source of food and WILL die off.

So.. with no fish for a month, there is no chance that you will avoid a cycle.

Feel free to disagree, but i can't see any other outcome...!

Squid

The water doesn't make a lot of difference, the gravel makes a tiny bit of difference if you added fish within a day or so.

Without fish in the tank, the tank WILL uncycle. With no ammonia source in the tank, the beneficial bacteria have no source of food and WILL die off.

So.. with no fish for a month, there is no chance that you will avoid a cycle.

Feel free to disagree, but i can't see any other outcome...!

Squid

Ditto