Jewel 400 Brace Bars.

Mrbarry

Reaction score
Hi all, I'll start by saying I'm a new member, or at least first post. I've been keeping fish for many years and have had all sorts of set ups from a 24x12x18 trop set up, to a 132x36x30 trop set up in 32mm plate glass, wish I still had it but heating 500 gallons of water wasn't getting any cheaper lol. I live in the midlands and am returning to fish after a couple of years dry ;)

I have a 30x14x21 set up, fresh water tropical with a 30x11x9 home made glass sump, and a 24x12x18 trop set up, but had a hankering for some thing larger, a Jewel 400 came along cheap with a ehieme pro3 filter so I snapped it up, but....

The two brace bars from the top of the tank are absent, I called maidenhead aquatics and they can next day them for me, but £50 :shock: We have an identical tank in our reception at work and on inspection today the braces in there are starting to part from the rim allowing the front to bow around 5mm. I am reluctant to replace them with the same so plan on ordering a pair of 8mm thick glass bars 40mm wide and 58 inches long (you gotta love the continuity in denomination haha) and silicon sealing them along the top of the glass under the plastic rim like a standard rimmed tank. I will then add two 8x40 braces front to back spaced equidistant apart. Has any one else ever tried this solution? I will post results as I find them.

It also needs a new lid but I plan cutting one from high gloss white plastic sheet on the laser cutter at work to match the high gloss stand (I sprayed it as my living room isn't beach friendly).