is 7mm Dorset pea gravel OK?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Depends what fish you're thinking of keeping...

was going to start of with cardinals I am new to this. someone said to me Dorset pea 7mm is no use and the food gets under it and roots that I need 3mm think Is I already bought the 7mm. what you reckon?

This 7mm is I believe what we refer to as "pea gravel," since the grains are roughly the size of a shelled pea. I would not use this myself, for what you intend, but it does have its uses. The advice about the chunks of food and detritus is well taken, and this is the major drawback of pea gravel (aside from fish concerns which I'll come to momentarily); finer grain substrate is better to develop a good biological bed in the aquarium.

River or stream tanks replicating the Indian sub-continent and Central America/Mexico can be very authentic with pea gravel. I've also used it in an amphibian plaudarium/vivarium.

If you intend fish like cardinal tetra, you may decide to have cories. Sand would be the substrate for these, so I would plan ahead. Play sand is very inexpensive; I have it in all my 8 tanks now, and wish I'd made the change long ago.

Byron.

This 7mm is I believe what we refer to as "pea gravel," since the grains are roughly the size of a shelled pea. I would not use this myself, for what you intend, but it does have its uses. The advice about the chunks of food and detritus is well taken, and this is the major drawback of pea gravel (aside from fish concerns which I'll come to momentarily); finer grain substrate is better to develop a good biological bed in the aquarium.

River or stream tanks replicating the Indian sub-continent and Central America/Mexico can be very authentic with pea gravel. I've also used it in an amphibian plaudarium/vivarium.