Input On Co2 And Bba

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Kstawski

Reaction score
So I'm fairly new to the hobby, I've been reading a ton, but just need some input.

Basic Information:
- 55 Gallon established almost a year ago
-Weekly water changes at about 50%, along with vacuuming the substrate since I'm not heavily planted
- Ph 7.2, Ammonia and Nitrites are 0, and Nitrates are ~10
- Eco complete substrate with seachem root tabs
- Satellite Plus 48" (On full spectrum 6 hours, so low/med par)
- Eheim 2217
- Amazon Sword, some vals, frogbit, and Java Moss (I know I need more plants)
- Dosing ferts
- 6 White tip tetras, 3 swordtails, 2 angels, and a BN Pleco

So I've developed some BBA, mostly on my Vals and my inlet and outlet for my Eheim.

So I know that I can use H2O2 and excel at higher doses to kill the BBA, but I know that's only a temporary solution, and it'll just come back if I don't solve why it was there in the first place.

I know that BBA is an imbalance between CO2, lights, and Ferts. But I'm not quite sure where that imbalance is at the moment. I sadly don't have a PO4 test kit at the moment.

Would adding DIY CO2 help reduce the bba? Or would it just be a huge mess? Or should I just add fast growing stem plants?

Thanks for any input!

I believe it's also down to poor flow. I mean you can up your liquid co2 dosing and over time it may get rid of it. If you go down the gas co2 route it will remove it as you'll have a supply of co2 during the entire light time.

What ferts are you dosing?  Macro & trace?  If so you need to be dosing Co2 - I use pressurised and liqiud and it helps in keeping the bba down to a minimum.