Indian Gourami White Lump On Tail. Fungus? Parasite?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Reporter_Stewart

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Before I come across as incredibly ignorant, I'm fairly new to fish-keeping.

Just joined up primarily because I need some help diagnosing what's wrong with my Indian gourami.

He has a fairly substantial white spot at the bottom of his tail fin. It seems to penetrate all the way though the fin, and is of an equal size in either side.

Lets go back to when I first got the fish: I bought two Indian gouramis about three weeks ago. Upon getting home and putting them in the tank I noticed one of the gouramis had precisely the same white lump - so I returned him and exchange him for another. Unfortunately the replacement is now exhbiting the same white lump.

It doesn't look particularly fluffy at the moment, so although I think it's most likely it's fungus, I'm not 100%.

My dad suggested it might be a parasite, but like I said I'm not sure. 

My water quality is generally quite good for a new tank. No ammonia, 7.5ph, low NO2 and NO3 is an (apparently) acceptable 30. He's currently in a 7l heated hospital tank. I've dosed with just under 1ml of whitespot and fungus treatment.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated and thank you for welcoming me into your community!

I've attached a picture to help.

Attachments

• gourami white spot.jpg
    gourami white spot.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 320
Welcome to the forums
smile.png

As your post is regarding a sick fish, I'm going to move your thread to 'Tropical Fish Emergencies', where the people who can help you will see it.

Thank you Fluttermouth! Apologies for having not posted in the correct place initially. 

That's quite all right.

Sorry, I can't help you myself, but I'm not very good with disease or gouramis!

No the best p, so I'm not even going to say what I think, but hopefully you get it sorted