I Can't Keep Goldfish Alive

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

natalie265

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
First of all, although i am new to goldfish, i am not new to fish keeping and have successfully kept freshwater tropicals for years, so i'm extremely stymied over my inability to keep goldfish alive.

I have a 55 gallon fish tank in my office at work (i work in a school) and i've been trying to keep it stocked with 3 fantail goldfish, but in the past school year, i have lost 4-5 fish.

In all but one case, the fish showed no signs of illness before they died (one of the fish became listless a few days before he died). They were swimming normally, eating normally, good color, and no marks or growths on their bodies. Still, i have treated the tank twice for bacterial infections and fungus, just in case, but i have lost two fish since this treatment. One thing i did notice is that they didn't seem to grow much. Even the one fish who lived the longest...probably about 8 months, didn't get much bigger in that period of time. None of them ever looked underweight, they just didn't seem to be getting any bigger.

I haven't tested the water since this most recent death (i'm going to test tomorrow), but i do test periodically, and the results have always been the same: ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate 20, ph 8. Being at room temperature, it might be a little warm for their liking. I do have a heater in the tank set as low as possible for they turn the heat down in the building nights and weekends and i figured a stable if warm temp was probably better than a constantly fluctuating one. I clean the tank at least once every two weeks.

I feed them a combination of flake food and 1 mm sinking pellets, both of which are not made specifically for goldfish (could that be the problem??). They also get peas about once per week and are usually fasted over the weekend.