Hypoxia, osmotic shock and dying fish

Fishgirl818

Reaction score
I bought 5 male guppies and 5 neon tetras 4 days ago and already 4 guppies and 1 tetra have died. My dead fish had all the symptoms of hypoxia and osmotic shock but I put an air stone to oxygenate the water and they still kept dying. I have one guppy left and it is showing some early symptoms which the other fish showed. This is my first time keeping fish so professional advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also i am due to do a water change in my 21 litre tank and am wondering if i should do it or not. Will it affect my lonely guppy who is now not swimming without being close to my tetras.

Sorry for the long post. Please help.☺

Last edited:
Did you cycle the tank before hand? If not, what are your ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels, if you have a test kit?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am new to keeping fish, i dont know what you mean by cycling the tank, but i did have the tank for 2 months until the ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph levels were good. I had it running, fed it, water changed it, put bio starter and water conditioner and watched it. i went to get my water tested by the people at my local pet shop and they said all the levels are really low and good. Also, my last guppy's tail is fraying. This happened to one of my previous guppies that died. Thank for the help☺

Sounds like you tried to Cycle it based on what your fish store told you.
Unfortunately they're not always the best source of information.
Please read the article here on cycling!
It's how I cycled my little tank when I was a newbie about 2 years ago.
They got me thru it wonderfully (and I had a million and one questions).
You may want to rehome your fishies until it's cycled as it's not fair for them and will most likely kill them.