Hybridizing corycats

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Giggles115

Reaction score
So I'm a huge fan of messing with genetics and was wondering if it's possible to breed emerald green corys with panda corys and produce a green, black, and white Cory? Need to know if it's been done, if it's possible, and if so how to do it.

Should also mention I'm a total noob at fish but my girlfriend is great with them

This is something that loricariid ichthyologists do not condone. Most members on this forum agree. I certainly do.

This is something that loricariid ichthyologists do not condone. Most members on this forum agree. I certainly do.
So it's ok for people to cross breed dogs and other animals but cross breeding fish to produce a new species is a no go

I also think its a bad idea we do not want or need deformities in fish.

Like this.
DalmationMolly.jpg

632cbdd3d20d4c460e5f7a4978744533.jpg

Since it isn't inbreeding how would these two produce deformities, seeing as these two are similar in size and shape, I don't see how they would have deformities as severe as those balloon bellies

Strictly speaking, both of those corydoras more than likely have different breeding habits, such as different temperature ranges. Then there's the fact that many species of fish prefer to breed with their own species (excluding guppies, mollies etc, they're worse than a young male dog). The problem here is, fish are not like dogs. Dogs are all under the same scientific name, whereas the two corydoras are not.

You are trying to breed for a specific set of colors, but unfortunately colors don't always come through, especially in the first generation of offspring. That means you need to get the first generation of fry to breeding age and then spawn them with either the parents or each other, which greatly increases the chance of physical deformities.