howdy.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Sunnyfish

Reaction score
hello everyone!
straight into the information, i guess.
i've technically had several years of "experience" with fish, but only recently have i read up on proper care for the fish i currently have (Q the betta). by recently i mean it was several months ago, but i suppose it's pretty recent when compared to the 6 years i've actually kept fish. as you can imagine i regret those several years of fishkeeping and i've sworn to do proper research before bringing any pet into my home - fish aren't the only pets i've kept for many years that i didn't know how to properly care for. other examples include dwarf hamsters, a gerbil (yes, A gerbil, not multiple - that's a sign i didn't know what i was doing right there), and even cats, but they were luckily cared for, for the most part, pretty well. i currently own 4 cats, a crested gecko, a rabbit, and my betta, all of which i do my best to keep happy and healthy.
i'll summarize my last bettas in a few sentences:
i owned about 6 or 7 in total over these last few years. they were kept in what i believe was a half gallon that was unheated and rarely cleaned. fish flakes were their only food option and i often forgot to even take care of feeding.
i didn't own just bettas, though - there was one incident where me and my family were at a local fair and won a huge bag of those little feeder goldfish. we didn't have a tank at home, so what did we do? we bought an itty bitty kritter keeper sold at the same stand to put them in. keep in mind there were, like, 15-20 goldfish in this bag.
YIKES.