How much longer

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lalah281

Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first time keeping platies and I'm pretty sure two of them are pregnant ... both getting fat with the gravid spot. By looking at this pic (this is the fattest one), can anyone tell me roughly how long until this one gives birth?

I'd like to save the spry if possible and set up a second aquarium.

Thank you.
20180613_124730.jpg

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

platies are pregnant for about 1 month but unless you see the fish breeding, you have to guess. She is fat so probably in a week or two.

if you only have white cloud mountain minnows and platies, and you have lots of plants, the fry should be fine with the parents. :)

Yeah just the minnows and platies. So you don't think they'd just eat them? I'll put some live plants in there over the next week. .. seen in another thread that they're good for the spry to hide.

if the adults are fed well they usually ignore the fry. Live plants (floating and growing in the gravel) give the babies somewhere to hide and that can also help.

I notice it says to feed fry 3 times a day, so I guess i'll try just keeping them in the same tank and they'll all be well fed

Thanks for your help.

baby fish should be fed at least 3 times per day. They need to be fed as often as required to keep little fat bellies on them. They should look like heavily pregnant platies when fed well. I use to feed my fry 4-5 times per day and they got newly hatched brineshrimp, microworms, powdered fry food and as they grew they got marine mix that was finely cut up.

If you keep the fry well fed and fat/ full all the time, they grow pretty rapidly :)

I wasn't sure whether to start a new thread, but you've been so helpful, I wondered what your opinion was on this ...