How long are Guppies pregnant for?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Elisabeth83

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Hi,

I think 1 of my female guppies is pregnant....her tummy is bigger than the other girls..and keeps increasing in size. Just wondering how long guppies stay pregnant for? I asked today at my lfs and they said they are usually pregnant for about 4 weeks.....I was told also they can decide when they want to give birth???

Also how many fry do they usually give birth to? Also what do you do with all the babies? Do fish stores usually buy just from regular people?

Also I'm new to guppies...so I'm not sure what the mating rituals are....I just noticed one of my male guppies waving his tail near the girl..and then she kinda turned on her side a little and he kinda "kissed" her side. Like sucked it a couple times.

Thanks!!! :p

4 weeks is about right, but it does vary alot..

if its a first time pregnancy dont expect many fry, they can have anything from 1 - 40+, i keep my fry and grow em up and sell em on..to lfs or anyone who wants them..

Most lfs will take your fish, but not when they are small..they have to be a sellable size. i hope i helped you abit :thumbs:

I am very new to the guppy thing as well, but they do seem to decide when to give birth. I tried a breeder tank and she refused to give birth and looked stresses. I took her out and we had babies everywhere! lol

She also waited until I ran to the grocery store. I was going to put her back in the breeder tank when I noticed her 'getting ready'. I read that they take on a more square - boxy shape just before birth.

Do you guys keep your guppies in their own tank?? I have mine mixed with other fish...but I'm thinking about putting them in their own tank...because I think I might of overcrowded my tank....

Whats a good size tank for guppies?? I was thinking of getting like a 15-20 gallon hex tank. I thought that would look really nice.