The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ryan231211

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score

High ammonia... can't get rid of it .. someone please help

1. Hello people..
    I'm new to keeping fish and I'm having a huge problem.. my tank has been up and running for 5 months... I've had ammonia from the start and it just won't go... I made a terrible mistake and added fish way to fast by following wrong advice... after reading a lot online I understand I made a huge mistake.. it's 22 gallon tank.. with about 35 really small fish... is this over crowded? Anyway.. I can't get my ammonia to go.. it will never go below 1ppm... I've tried so many ways that people have suggested.. nothing is working... I've tried leaving it a week before water changes... ammonia just goes sky high... I've added ammonia remover.. I've done water changes every other day.... and then I tried 50% water changes daily... nothing is working... I have added a a much larger and better filter for the tank... I know a new filter won't help my situation right now as there is no bacteria inside.. but I've had ammonia problems since I started... someone body please please help me... I've lost so many fish already... I honestly don't know what else to do...

Are you testing with strips or with a liquid kit? Strips are not accurate and the ammonia just might be an inaccuracy because of all that stuff you have done already.

You can get a bottle of beneficial bacteria supplement and use as needed after water changes. Read the directions on the bottle. I always use it after water changes. It creates the bacteria so you don't have to wait for it to come back after you clean the filter and water.

Hello ash paws..