Hi I'm new :) and looking for advice

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

FishRunner

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi, my names Chris and i'm from the north east of England (U.K) This is my first attempt at owning an aquarium,I have spent hours researching about ph,gh,kh etc and which fish are best suited to a community tank. But i think i've overloaded myself with info lol :)
A few days ago i purchased a Juwel Rekord 96, filled it with water added stones,bio filter,heater (temp reading 25 degree's c) and a air pump.
At the moment i have no fish, the tank has been running about 3 days now.
My thought was to buy the live plants, Rocks etc first and then leave for about a week before putting my first two fish in two start the cycle. I have took no readings yet but will do before i put in the first two hardy fish, is this the right way to do things or could anyone offer any other advice i could find helpfull, i understand it will take about 6-8 weeks to compleate the cycle. The fish i was thinking of putting in eventually are - 4 wagtail platy, 4 tiger barbs, 2 bronze corydoras, 2 dwarf gourami, 4 angel fish, 1 plecostomus and 1 betta, is this to many? and am i right in thinking just to add 2 fish every day or so?
sorry about the long winded post, many thanks in advance for reading this.

All the best
Chris

Welcome Fishrunner. :)

I wouldn't bother testing for ammonia yet. You won't have any because first you have to have a source of ammonia. ie. food fish waste.

I'm not sure about the platy and betta (others here can comment on those) but I wouldn't add tiger barbs with angel fish and bettas. or mollies?

If you get 7-8 tiger barbs they usually leave everyone else alone but being this is a forum I have to reply with generalizations, so it could work, but I've also seen it not work many times.

Is a Juwel Rekord 96 mean it's 96 gallons or liters?