Hi all, and a quick Q about lighting if I may?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

wombat74

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've been keeping fish on and off for about 15 years, starting with a tiny tank with some guppies through to experimenting (poorly) with discus. I'm currently trying to establish a planted aquarium in my Blue Planet 160L tank:

IMG_0755.jpg

At the moment I just have a piece of ghostwood in there along with some crypts, hairgrass, ambulia, and a couple of sickly stems of ludwigia. I've been running a borrowed LED Zeal 120 light on there, but I need to give it back, and have two LED tubes designed for my tank to replace it, but I'm not sure if they're going to be suitable (for reference the two new tubes are the ones lighting the tank in the above picture).

The tubes have the following lighting spectrum (according to the box they came in anyway):
IMG_0754.jpg
I wonder if any of your fine selves would be able to tell if they're going to be ok for my tank or not? I am planning on putting CO2 in there.

I was also considering getting a set of these lights: https://makemyled.com/2-x-flora-sun-40w-dual-channel-full-spectrum-pendant-mml-florasun-402/, but if the ones I have are ok for now, I'd prefer to divert the money into a CO2 system instead.

Thanks very much :)

are your old lights only 1 watt? if yes then that seems a bit low.

The colour spectrum is off as well. It has lots of blue and not much red. You want red and blue in equal parts and yellow and green don't do much so can be wherever. However, too much yellow light will make the water look yellow. Lots of blue light helps to make things look white and bright and clear.

If you have 1 light with lots of red, and 1 with lots of blue then it will balance out.

Check the wattage on your current light unit that you have to return, and get something similar to that.

Thanks for the response, Colin.