Hey! New here!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

rob4191

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Rob! I'm 15 and I've been maintaining a betta community tank for 3 years now. It includes a school of Neon Tetras and Albino cories. I'm mainly joining to seek advice for an odd problem, but hopefully I'll be posting about more general topics soon enough.

My tank is only 10 gallons. Although I know and you guys know that's not that big a tank, and that it's overstocked, my mom disagrees. I've been trying to upgrade to at least a 20 gallon for a while now, and o have more then enough saved up for a new tank and stand, but my mom won't budge. She says that a 10 gallon is more then enough for my betta (which she says looks like a "rag") and my Tetras (which she says looks like "flies"), but I've been constantly been dealing with the maintenance for the past 3 years. My fish seem fine, but a 20 gallon would be better.

She thinks I'm becoming too caught up on what's a passing interest (even though I've shown interest in fishkeeping ever since childhood) and that I'm looking for an excuse to spend my money even of I've been saving it.

I hope I haven't come off as petulant, but I'm seeking advice. Does anyone know how to convince her?
3b6bad89462fd9ea2930f2c09ad66c0d.jpg

LOL :)

sorry couldn't help it.

Hi Rob and welcome to the forum :)

If your mum is like my mum, just ignore her and buy tanks. But to be fair my mum didn't give a crap about us kids. I'm sure your mum does :). You could get a double tier stand and have a 20g tank on top and 2 smaller tanks underneath. Or a triple tier stand and have 2 x 20g tanks and a couple of smaller ones. It means you don't take up much more space but do get more tanks.

Ask her if you can get a puppy. She will say hell no and then you say puppy or another tank, fish are easier and quieter but I would really like a puppy ;)

And if your mum asks who gave you this idea, I will deny everything :)