Help Me Stock My Tank With Nice Looking Fish!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

am3ience

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi, i'm new to fishkeeping and have a 36 gallon bowfront tank using an aqeuon quietflow 55 filter, and the tank is in the process of being heavily planted. Currently I have:Ā 

6 zebra daniosĀ 
3 honey gouramiĀ 
3 oto catfish
1 siamese algae eater.Ā 

I'm thinking of bringing my zebra danios back to petsmart and getting some more colourful fish for my tank. I was thinking of a couple dwarf flame gourami, and a school of cardinal or neon tetras or maybe even rainbowfish? Any recommendations would be awesome! Would like the fish be as nice looking or colorful as possible!

catfish4ever said:
Rainbowfish fish hands down, Boesmani's or Red Iranians
how many rainbowfish do you think i can fit in there?

Boesmani and Iranians get too big for a 36 gallon tank but a group of Dwarf Neon Rainbows would work nice. A group of 8 would fit nicely.
Ā 
If your set on keeping the Zebra Danios, fair enough but ideally you want Danios in long tanks over 4 foot long and with a strong current, they are a common fish that are sold to small tanks regularly but actually they are an incredibly active fish and need more room than you would expect. Just a thought.
Ā 
Wills

am3ience; is your water hard or soft?

fluttermoth said:
am3ience; is your water hard or soft?
Ā 
my KH is a little below 40
Wills said:
Boesmani and Iranians get too big for a 36 gallon tank but a group of Dwarf Neon Rainbows would work nice. A group of 8 would fit nicely.
Ā 
If your set on keeping the Zebra Danios, fair enough but ideally you want Danios in long tanks over 4 foot long and with a strong current, they are a common fish that are sold to small tanks regularly but actually they are an incredibly active fish and need more room than you would expect. Just a thought.
Ā 
Wills
Ā