FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Cassiopeia

Reaction score
I am new to fish keeping so bear with me. I was gifted 2 common plecostomus, 5 fruit tetra and a 20 gallon tank. I went to the store and got what I thought was everything to go with. Soon found out this tank is way too small so am in the process of getting a 180 gallon tank. YES, IM SURE. Before I set that up though I want to get this water situation stable. My ph is right around 7.0 so that is fine, but my ammonia test strips say danger/harmful levels. I have a good filter fit for 20-40 gallons in it. Products I have are as listed: auquasafe water conditioner(I have hard well water), safe start healthy filter bacteria(says on the bottle lowers ammonia), correct ph fizz tabs, and I use simple test strips for ph and ammonia levels. Yesterday when I tested and had high ammonia levels I did a 30% water change and added aquasafe, and safe start. Its still in the danger zone today. Does it take a while to work? Am I using ok products, or is there something better I should be using? Or maybe I am missing something completely. Any advice will be appreciated.

Taking some water samples to petco to have them do some testing and get advice. I'm very worried about my fish at this point.

, correct ph fizz tabs,
Stuff is rubbish and thats where it belongs., Do not mess with the PH unless somebody like Byron gives you instructions. Changing PH is a lot more complex than adding xxx amount of magic product to yyy gallons of water.

I use simple test strips for ph and ammonia levels. Yesterday when I tested and had high ammonia levels I did a 30% water change

All you did was lower the ammonia by 30%, Let me explain.

If your Ammonia level is 1 and you change 30% of the water the ammonia will drop down to .7, If you change 50% of the water your Ammonia drops to .5, but if you change 75% your Ammonia drops to .25.

This formula applies to Nitrite and Nitrate.