Help Me Diagnose A Sick Congo Tetra

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Eddy UK

Reaction score
Hi,Could anyone help me diagnose a sick Congo tetra.I've recently had to remove a troublesome molly which killed two Rainbows by putting them under massive stress - this little molly was one mean b*gger.Its now be re-homed.But now within 4 days one of my Congo's has lost a lot of its colour and has a white patch behind its dorsal fin. It looks as if its scales have become infected but i am no expert in diagnosis.Can anyone help...?If its helps i have just undertaken my regualr 20% water change and everyone else in the tank seems ok...Attached are two closeups of the infected area - please not that the bright colour of the fish is artificial and created by my flash.Cheers EddyAnd here it is again from another angle:

Attachments

• IMG_7664.jpg
    IMG_7664.jpg
    21.8 KB · Views: 206
  • IMG_7665.jpg
    IMG_7665.jpg
    19.1 KB · Views: 159
Hi Eddy - I think its a fungal infection, unless someone else knows better. Maybe get some protozin - waterlife (The one for fungal) or the interpet one.

Can anybody else confirm this plz ?

Does the patch look fluffy as columnaris can soon attack a fish under stress.

It doesnt look fluffy at all - more like the scales have bleached and gone "flacky" - i'm really lost as what is best to do

What you are describing can be parasite to bacterial.
Is the fish flicking and rubbing against ojects.
What do the gills look like.

I've seen that few times before on fish in an LFS, seems to be an internal bacterial infection. I would suggest isolating, to help prevent further contamination in your tank.

How often do you perform water changes?

What you are describing can be parasite to bacterial.Is the fish flicking and rubbing against ojects.What do the gills look like.