FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

fish_food

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Tank size: 100L
ammonia: 0
tank temp: 24 oC

Just got home to see my bubble-eyed goldfish on it's side with a red streak in it's eye.  
Did a complete water change and am currently aerating the tank.  He's still lying on his side and looking quite weak. I really don't know what to do, and am afraid he might die.
I'm an aquarium noob so I wasn't aware of tank cycling until recently, and I think this might have been why his health has been up and down for a while.

Is there anything I can do?

A red streak could mean septicimia, or ammonia burns. (I'm also a noob is diseases, bear with me :X ) Does the streak have a two pronged tail?

What is your nitrite reading? If I recall, you are doing a fish-in cycle, right? If ammonia is zero, you may be dealing with nitrite. However, there are long-lasting problems from exposure to ammonia. Can you please post an image?

You said you are currently aerating the tank. Has there not been a filter previously or do you mean you have added additional oxygen in some way (air stones/pumps, lowered water level, etc.)?

He's still alive, but he's very weak.
Sorry I haven't been very clear.  The local aquarium didn't sell a nitrite tester, so I wasn't able to get a reading.  He already had a filter, but I've added in an air stone.
The red streak is in his eye, and I've read somewhere that it might have something to do with oxygen deprivation.
I'm worried, since he hasn't eaten for nearly a week, and he's already so weak.

Sorry about the quality, I couldn't get a good picture of his eyes without disturbing him, but there is a red blob in both of them.  The white background is a basket I put him in to get him closer to the surface of the tank.