Hello!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Sanjukta

Reaction score
Hello! This is my betta named Blush!
I wanted some help identifying him.. not that I am into breeding but I just want to know how to make sure which group of Betta does he belong to!
I wish to enhance my knowledge on understanding the bettas as I am new to owning this beautiful fish.
Blush absolutely does not react make bubble nests or flare. I understand that it’s ok. Am I right? Plz help if otherwise!

Attachments

• C2D66238-70C2-4423-B14C-522B92343336.jpeg
    C2D66238-70C2-4423-B14C-522B92343336.jpeg
    211.1 KB · Views: 302
  • 52358911-094A-4CE5-B6B3-1373EC35D141.jpeg
    52358911-094A-4CE5-B6B3-1373EC35D141.jpeg
    331.7 KB · Views: 307
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Did you buy the fish as a male Betta or male Siamese fighting fish?
If yes, then it is simply a cream coloured Betta splendens.

Many years ago Betta splendens was hybridised with Betta imbellis and a few other small Bettas to produce the different coloured fish we see today. They are considered Betta splendens but in reality, most of them have a mixture of different DNA from their ancestors.

--------------------------
Male fish build a bubblenest when they are sexually mature. Your fish has short fins, which would indicate it is either a female, a young male, or a short fin male. The short fin males are regularly used for fighting. If it's a young male it will need a few more months of good food and clean water to mature, then it should build a bubblenest.

If you have some floating plants in the tank, it can encourage them to build a bubblenest. The best plant is Water Sprite (Ceratopteris thalictroides/ cornuta), which floats on the surface but can also be grown in the substrate.

--------------------------