Hello Tff And Dwarf Puffer Lovers !

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

HWood

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello All - 

I am a novice fish keeper and have had tons of dumb luck over the years with tanks here and there. I have never really gotten into the "science" of it all because I mostly got away with stuff that I shouldn't have (over crowding, over feeding, not testing water etc...) When I just recently found this forum and started reading, I couldn't believe all the mistakes I had made. So much great info here!

Back in October, my neighbor who frequently fishes Lake Erie (Cleveland, Ohio) brought home a bucket of Minnows that he uses for bate. I noticed a few little guys that stood out from the rest. He had a small channel cat and 3 gobys. I told him that I would get my 10 gallon out of the attic and get it going again so I could keep them. Well, that didn't go so good... 

They all died within a month or so, and I really felt bad... really.
sad.png
   So I decided that I wanted to keep my 10 up and going (get back into fish keeping) but I needed to figure out what went wrong... I went to our local aquaculture store and made friends with the employees who spelled out the basics that makes perfect sense, and told me what I needed to do. After purchasing a water test kit, I found that my water wasn't in that bad of shape and with a moderate cleaning, water changes, and testing.. I was cycled. YAY !!

Now, after countless hours of surfing by reading and looking at all my fishy options (and I mean countless... ) I finally decided on dwarf puffers.

Today, I became the proud Momma of 2 juveniles! Merry Christmas to me 
yahoo.gif
lol.

Please check out their new crib and photos... They are so small, maybe a half inch but I can see a HUGE amount of personality already. I think I have a male and female but not sure (about the male) - could have 2 females?