Hello From Singapore ! New to forum, new to everything

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Eugene Teo

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Eugene, and I am totally new to having a fresh water aquarium.

My wife got a fish tank for me for my 35th birthday about a month ago.

I need some advise !

The fish tank I am using is Aquacurv 380
Covered Plugsd & Play Aquarium

Dimension(mm) : L380 x W265 x H395
Tank Volume : 32L
Filter type : Top Fliter
Pump Wattage : 5.5W
Pump Flow Rate : 250L/H
LED Wattage : 4.5W

The tank now is a month and has went through three 25% water change.
(The third time I change, I was shock, too many left over food at the btm :(, well I manage to slowly clean them up)

Initially one week in, it has only 3 guppies! All the water test were fine,

2 weeks in, my wife added in 6 diamond head tetra. I didn’t do any water taste and also added in the air ball thingy.

3 weeks in, I added some plants in, Java Moss, Java Fern and one more that I have no idea what it is. Hahah. (Sorry if I got the name wrong).

I notices that the one of diamond heads break off from the school, I was worried and I was reading up on diseases and what not but he seems fine, but he does swim strange and time, like twerking on a spot.

One reading brought up about water current and someone mention that the water current might be too strong due to air stone. So I tried to off it, and now the loner has went back to school.

I honestly hope he is fine.

I did a water test today, and I am sad
Ph level is 8.2
Ammonia level is 1.0
Nitrite no2 is 0
Nitrate no3 is 10 or 20 ppm, I can’t tell the difference. It’s too close haha.

Temp is 29 :(its Singapore, it’s humid)

I would love to have the fishes be in the best condition that it can be.

Is there anything I can improve on?

I would also love to add in 4 more Cory cats. Will I be over crowding the tank ?

Sorry for long posting and asking so many things...