Hello everyone. New betta owner here with a quick question.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

TallPaul

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to tropical fish keeping and have been researching quite a bit before taking the plunge and getting myself set up.

So at the moment I have a 10 gallon cube tank from Aqua Manta that is home to a betta fish called Spike.

Now I fully understand the cycling process and the nitrogen cycle, I have test equipment and my parameters are fine. But..... when I purchased the tank from a reputable fish store they sold me on some Microbe Lift Nite Out which is supposed to instantly add bacteria to the tank.

I followed the instructions and introduced the fish, he seems a lot happier than he was in his tiny holding cell at the store. He is displaying his fins and is very active. However I have a planted tank with Java Fern, Java Moss, Anubias nana and cryptocoryne parva.

I've notice a tiny amount of white coloured fluff on the java moss and it's started to appear on the crypt.

I'm wondering if this is a small amount of bacterial bloom clinging to the plants, the crypt has done it's new tank melt and I've removed a lot of dead leaves.

I kind of wish I had ignored the staff and just cycled the tank the normal way but anyhow we are where we are and the water parameters are good.

Should I just continue with bi weekly water changes and hope it clears up or could it be something else?

A few things, after first welcoming you to TFF. :hi:

Now, the white fluff...any chance of a photo?

To the cycling, with the plants and assuming they are growing, you lucked out. They will easily assimilate the ammonia from one Betta in a 10 gallon tank, even though they are all slow-growing species (faster-growing plants like floating plants can be "ammonia sinks"). The Microbe may have helped, it likely did not hurt, so no problem there.