Hand-Fed Fish...how Much Food?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

twintanks

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Although not new to keeping goldfish, I am currently facing an issue that I have no previous experience of....hand-feeding a poorly goldfish.
Not sure if this is the most appropriate category, so please move it if needed.
I have a 13yo goldie, about 6 inches (excluding tailfin) who is unable to swim except on her side, and not very well at that. She cannot rise to the surface of the tank and spends much of the day lying on the bottom. I am hand-feeding her, but I honestly have no idea how much I should be offering. I've offered chopped-up pea, which she takes from my fingers; and I've used a plastic pipette to offer some sinking pellets. Thing is, how much is enough? She does not refuse food, despite being incapacitated. She has been "bottomed" for about two to three weeks now; the last couple of days I haven't offered up much other than peas. Afraid this is a bit of a mixed question; have searched extensively ref swimbladder/swimming problems and I don't think much can be done for her, but she is alive, eating and her colouring is bright.

Hi, I understand that a fishes stomach is relative to the size of their eye. I think the best way to deal with this is to feed as you are and just clear up anything the fish hasn't eaten after about 30 minutes. That way you avoid any possible water problems which will only add to the fishes problems