Hair Algae And Removal

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Chtheo

Reaction score
Hi All,

Pretty new here so apologies if i have infringed upon any rules! (i dont think i have!)

I have been keeping fish for around 2 years now, and i have a long serving 100l (working volume) Conditioned tap water tank, which has been chugging along just fine for the majority of those 2 years.

About a month ago i started a new tank, and i was experimenting with R/O, a colleague of mine had spoken about it a lot, and says he has had no problems with it in his years of using it. I thought i would give it a go, its a 60l (working volume) tank with 100% remineralised RO. To begin with all that was in the tank was some well soaked Bog wood (soaked for about 3 days, replacing the water each day) i also have a number of plants, i have an (as of yet) unknown grass, Twisted Vallis, Java Fern, Dwarf Baby tears and 6 Moss Balls.

These plants were put in in stages (as and when i found some i liked the look of really)

The first intwhere the moss balls and the grass - everything was fine in the tank...
Then a day or two later the vallis - Everything was fine...
A Week later The Java Fern was added - everything is still fine...
another week later i added the dwarf baby tears, 2 days later i had a massive hair algae outbreak!

The tank had no fish in, so i had been trying to make the conditions for the plants as optimal as possible so that they would establish themselves before adding in fish. i had been supplementing CO2, adding in Ferropol (Daily Iron fertiliser Supplement) As well as this i have fertilizing stubstrate and when the plants went in i placed Ferrotabs under the roots. as well as weekly fertilizing.

Since putting in the baby tears i seem to have gained the algae, so i guess i had some hitch-hiking spores or something on that plant, however the bog wood is covered!

The Equipment i have is:
Filtration: