Growth not responding to treatments

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Belangaria

Reaction score
Can anyone tell me what is the white covering on this mollys head please? It was all white a few days ago but looks like a piece has flaked off. It's still swimming and eating but I'm concerned it's something which will impact the other fish. So far, none of the others have any. It's been like this for a few weeks now. I've tried water changes, parasite treatment, white spot treatment, raising temp slightly, and nothing has improved it.

I'm fairly new to fish so I'm worried about the whole talk dying off. Help!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20171207-185003.png
    Screenshot_20171207-185003.png
    590.6 KB · Views: 76
It could be a fungus of some kind. I would put him in a quarantine tank by himself to make sure whatever he has does not get to the other fish. Even if it is not something that can spread, the other fish might pick on it and make it worse.

Rather than fungus, it looks like bacteria has eaten away at the tissue there. You need to quarantine and treat with antifungal/antibiotics (many meds treat for both). Kanaplex should work well in this situation.

What are the parameters at and what size is the tank plus the stocking? Often times disease is the results of poor water quality and stocking issues. If you could list the species of fish along with the nitrite, nitrate, and ammonia levels that would be perfect.

Hi, thanks for replying.
I'm not sure of the exact readings as someone else did the test. Nitrites are slightly above where they should be but all others are normal. (water change imminent in a few days anyway) Tank is 150litres and we currently have 4catfish (small) 1loach, 4 neons, 4gouramis, 1 cherry barb, and about 6 mollys. We have real plants and a decent filter (not sure what specifically but I was told it's plenty for the tank) and an air stone which bubbles away constantly.
Photo of tank below.