Greetings everyone! Another newbie here!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Vidjhaya

Reaction score
Hello all and everyone!

We recently adopted a pet fish in our family, for my daughter, because she adores animals and was still grieving a lot from when our old kitty passed away before the holidays... And we are not really ready for another cat...

... and I knew very well I would be the one taking care of the fish, while letting her give him his food... sometimes... Okay... I admit it. I wanted a pet fish. Guilty. Daughter gave me the perfect excuse to go get one without too much arguing from husband. And since she could never give him the same name every day and kept changing from "Fish" to "Fishy" to "insert anything new everyday here", I even got to name him.

So now I have a betta fish =^.^=

Reading is nice and all, but if I am going to take care of the little guy, I'd love to have actual input from people, be able to ask people with experience if I need, and learn and share from and with other fish-loving people.

So here is Malfurion's beginning in his new family...

At first we had gotten those small "betta tanks" with a led light at the bottom,can't remember the name right now. I thought it seemed small for a small tank made for bettas, but hey, gotta start learning somewhere.

So I started reading, I wanted to see if he was normal, healthy, etc. Some of his fin seemed weird to me, and I was afraid he might have fin rot. Well, pet stores... He has the tip of one of his fin with a white spot, and it seemed odd to me.

I tried to keep the water clean, take care as best as I could... but last week, his condition suddenly deteriorated. His color started getting quite dull (he is a blue betta), his appetite basically disappeared, and he became extremely lethargic, would either hide under something or just float in the back corner of his little tank. His fins were clamped.