The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

elipilgrim

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
     Hey there everyone, I am fairly new to having a tank and only getting the initial cycling process near the end now.. It was a fish-in cycle, with a couple losses on the way but not many.
     I have a 29 gallon tank with 3 plants in it at the moment. Here's a picture:
tankpic.jpg
     Inside are 8 rummy-nose tetras, 4 green tiger barb, 3 mollys(including a blowfish molly), 2 bala sharks, 2 platys, a small angel, a dwarf gourami and 2 catfish algae eaters.
     I know that this is possibly too many fish for a 29g tank. Like I said, I am new to having a tank, I overstocked it too fast without proper knowledge, I know, I know.. I am the bad guy. But, they are all still very young and not large by any means, and as they get larger I will figure it out or have another tank by then, perhaps.
smile.png

Anyway, back to the tiger barbs..

So.. When I first started the tank and bought the first green tiger barbs, I bought 3.. One of them passed after the first or second night, so then I got 5 more (after learning that they hate to be alone and they like to be in groups). Now there were 7 of them and they all seemed happy.. Oddly, the runt of the group got sick and passed. Then once that one was gone, the next smallest one seemed to die not long after (They both may be possibly due to the cycle). Regardless, as of approx. 2 weeks ago, I've had the same 5 remaining.
     They always seemed to be little instigators - picking at others here and there, but nothing too harsh. Particularly, they've been going after my black, timid blowfish molly to the point where he hides under the largest ornament in the shadows on the bottom. And he is only lately starting to fight back when they go near him down there.