Goldfish & Live Plants

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

SaraAnn

Reaction score
santa.gif
Hi everyone!

I am new to this Tropical Fish forum. I hope I am writing in the right place. Well, I have officially set up my first Fantail Goldfish tank. I have had previous tropical tanks separately filled with cichlids, catfish, bluegill, molly, tetra, betta, guppies, etc. My boyfriend and I have had this tank set up for three weeks now. It is filled with large soft rounded gravel and rocks with a short weed decor in the center. I have been reading up a little more about live plants. Live plants would help with the tank clarity and the general happiness of the goldfish and our one mystery snail. Not to mention a snack to nibble on. I was worried with the goldfish being beautiful "glutenous" fish, they just might eat these plants before they have a chance to thrive. Or the ammonia (even with the levels being maintained) would be just to harmful for these plants. I did not buy these plants from the store. I have hand picked them from our pond. I filled a quarter of a gallon water jug of the goldfish tank water and a few splashes of the pond water with the hand picked plants into the water jug. I am just observing the plants for a couple days to a week to see if they will grow with the tank water. I am also worried about possible parasites or harmful bacteria that I may be adding to my tank. I am hoping some of you will help me with some much needed advice. 

Attachments

• 1488239_10202618015396553_17714789_n.jpg
    1488239_10202618015396553_17714789_n.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 91
  • 1476232_10202618014956542_2126316066_n.jpg
    1476232_10202618014956542_2126316066_n.jpg
    40.8 KB · Views: 86
welcomeani.gif
to the forum! I hope you enjoy it here.

Do you have a light over the plants that you're testing out? I imagine they'd be fine in your water but without light they may not grow.