Giant Cory Spawn!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

fishmad135

Fishaholic
Reaction score
So as the title suggests my cories have spawned again, but on a massive scale!
yahoo.gif

yahoo.gif
 I've had lots of experience breeding cories but have only ever kept around 50 eggs or less so not to get out of hand! This spawn however has left me with around 150 eggs, the majority of them turning dark already so I'm assuming they're mostly fertile.. 

DSC_0422.JPGDSC_0423.JPG

I've done the usual - methylene blue, water flow around eggs, put java moss in there waiting for fry that hatch etc!
However.. I'm not actually sure if I'm going a little crazy in keeping around 150 eggs? What would you guys do? I can't wait for more fry as my Panda and Pygmaeus fry are pretty much all grown up and I'm feeling in the need for more babies around.. I just don't want it to get out of hand 
blink.png

I sell my other cories to local fish stores for cash or credit so finding homes wouldn't be hard.. 

Gratz, hopefully most of them make it to be little cories. I think LFS would be the main outlet. Cories always sell.

Awesome. Any tips on breeding them and getting them to spawn?

it's unlikely that all will survive. My peppered cories once produced eggs in a similar number to yours and most of the fry died over a period of a few weeks. I can't exactly remember how many made it to the lfs but I think it was about 20 or so.

I'm finding with my panda cories that if I get 10% to survive I'm doing well. 

Munroco said:
Gratz, hopefully most of them make it to be little cories. I think LFS would be the main outlet. Cories always sell.
Thanks! I hope so 
innocent.gif
I woke up this morning to find that less are fertile than I thought (may be a small blessing!), I reckon there's approximately 70 fertile eggs now!

cooledwhip said:
Awesome. Any tips on breeding them and getting them to spawn?