Getting Thin, Dying, Dead!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Stu-pot

Reaction score
Hello,

i've got a 165L community tank. last year i got 10 mixed barbs and since then the fish have been dropping off one by one!

i change the water every 2 weeks and the water continually tests as ideal.

the affected fish (not just the barbs) suddenly looses losts of weight then turns belly up! i don't know what i'm doing wrong, i'm new to tropical fish keeping and have had the tank running for 10 months.

any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

Can you post water stats please.
What test kit are you using.

How many times do you feed aday.
Are all the fish eating well and not losing weight due to not eating.
How old are the fish.
Do any fish have bent spines.
What does it look like when the fish goes to the toilet.
Is the anus enlarged or red and inflamed.
Any worms prutruding from the anus.
Do any fish swim on there sides.
Do any fish flick and rub.
Any excess mucas on fish body, or greyish white patches.
Any fish dart around the tank or swim erratic.

Losing weight can be old age, internal parasites, external parasites, fish tb, the fish isn't eating.

If alot of fish have lost weight could be looking at fish tb to internal parasites.

Hello,

i've got a 165L community tank. last year i got 10 mixed barbs and since then the fish have been dropping off one by one!

i change the water every 2 weeks and the water continually tests as ideal.

the affected fish (not just the barbs) suddenly looses losts of weight then turns belly up! i don't know what i'm doing wrong, i'm new to tropical fish keeping and have had the tank running for 10 months.

any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

what i do is 1 water change weekly 30% to 40% use a decent water conditioner
do not over feed. i.e only put enough food in for all the fish to cosume in a couple of minutes.