General 20 gallon tank questions

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

mdingrimsby

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am new to the forum and this is my first time running an aquarium on my own. When I was younger my Dad and I had one together. I have a few questions for you! But first, a summary of my tank conditions.

I have set up and cycled a 20 gallon (tall, not wide). I just put in two male guppies and one male, one female swordtail. The PH is 7. General hardness is 60. Temperature is 78. I have no live plants. I want it to be a community tank. I have one top fin 20 gallon power filter.

I did not want to over do it and add a bunch of fish at once. Here are my questions:

1. From what I have read I will need to add at least one more female swordtail to keep the aggressiveness of the male in check. Is this correct?

2. In 2-3 weeks I would like to add Neon Tetras. I was thinking I would add 3, and then add another 3 more two weeks later. My local pet store said that I could still add 6 at once and it wouldn't overload the tank. He also mentioned that adding just three might stress them out. What do you think? Is a temperature of 78 too high for them? Also, I have read that they are been over bred - are there particular things to look out for when buying Neon's, any specific physical signs?

3. Live plants. I have never used live plants. I am considering adding them. When adding them should I be aware of anything? Do I need to do a water change when adding them? How do they affect my water levels and waste? Is keeping plastic plants just as useful when it comes to hiding places etc?

4. After adding the 6 neon's and I presume one more swordtail, do you think there will be room for a couple more fish? I was considering adding either a couple more male guppies or 3-6 Harlequins. The Harlequins stay reasonably small, but would 6 be overstocking?