Fry & Ich - Please Help!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

mrstwalker

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
So I believe I have the beginnings of an ich outbreak in my tank, nothing seems to be terrible and all the fish seem to be happy, but I would like to treat the ich if it truly is starting to develop in my tank, so there wont be any major outbreaks. 

The only problem is that I have 5 platy fry around 3-5 days old in a floating breeding box in my tank and do not currently have the means to move them into a new tank while my adult fish are treated. 

The tank is 10 gallons and I have the pre-dosed ich tablets that you just drop in the tank. Would my fry be okay if I treated the tank? Or should I wait to treat the tank until I can buy a whole new tank/filter/heater/lights ect. for the fry? I would really like not to do that, but I do need to treat my tank before the ich becomes a problem. 

I have no experience with platys or fry in general so not sure if it'd be okay or not, but thought I'd ask if you can get a picture up, just to make sure it's ich. You don't want to medicate for the wrong thing :)

Ninjouzata said:
I have no experience with platys or fry in general so not sure if it'd be okay or not, but thought I'd ask if you can get a picture up, just to make sure it's ich. You don't want to medicate for the wrong thing
smile.png