Fluval Edge, No Cycle.....

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

MarcoPereira

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I must say, I am baffled...my new Fluval edge will not and has not started to cycle at all! I have been using fish food as ammonia supply for the last 2 weeks and yet nothing. We can not buy ammonia here in Australia as it is deemed a hazardous chemical or something ridiculous like that, but what else am I to do? I noticed that tank got very acidic, down to 6 from original 6.4-6.5.
Temperature is 26 C and water is crystal clear now. Have bogwood in there which may be cause of acidity but remedied that by adding a level teaspoon of bi carb soda to raise Ph and Kh, have live plants and no fish. Used Seachem Prime for the water when setting it up and Stability to get the filter going but as of today, nothing is happening.
What am I doing wrong? I am fairly new to this and have read the Nitrogen cycle over and over again and am at a loss.
Any help or tips will really make my day.
Am thinking of taking out some bogwood and only having a small piece in there. Would like to make it into a biotope style amazon river with relevant plants and fish but to scared to even begin in this adventure if I can not even cycle a tank.
Cheers.

Your plants are processing the ammonia.

cynic said:
Really? that I never knew. So does that mean they have to be removed? or should I add more fish food to allow bacteria to also have something to eat?
BTW tonight, just for a giggle, I tested ammonia and it is showing o.5 ppm ! so there is finally ammonia, but alas, no nitrites yet.
When should one do a water change? only when nitrates show?
Thank you for your reply.

Its a bit complex and the proper plant guys will know better explanations.

Plants use amonia same as the bacteria in the filter to generate nitrites and nitrates.