Fishless Cycle- Water Query

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

bretty1984

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

just took the plunge and have bought a 23 litre tank which I set up on Thursday. It is my first tank so I didnt want to go big! When I say set up, I have put the heater and filter in place. Added the solution that gets rid of chlorine etc etc and for the last three days I have been adding a biological enhancer, as per the instructions. The water temperature is up where it should be and the filter looks to be running ok. I have read that it helps to add a pinch of fish food to the empty tank to help the cycle before adding fish.

This is all new to me and I am still learning but I have two queries regarding the water.

1. The water doesn't look as clean as it did, and I understand this is probably normal but should I change it when doing a fishless cycle or should I leave it until I have introduced the fish?

2. I have a water test kit and I have read that for the first 7 days the readings will spike before settling down it is not worth taking a reading until the time comes to add the fish. Is this correct?

I am so keen to get going but obviously want to do everything properly and I am going to wait the 7 days before even contemplating adding any fish.

Is there anything else that I would need to do to get the tank up and running?

I have read a lot of the pinned threads and a lot of it is very helpful, i look forward to using this site more often!

Thanks

Craig

Morning Craig, welcome to the wonderful world of fishkeeping.

You're at a good stage where you still have lots of options. Have a read of this, it'll tell you everything you need to know about cycling and is the sort of thing people often wish they'd read earlier. Should answer your questions far better than I can here, and if you have anything else you want to ask afterwards then ask away.

hi thanks for the reply.