What's new

Fishless Cycle Question

Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 Click here to enter! 🐰

viper20

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the forum and also to fish in general, i have been reading tons of info on the internet and decided to purchase a 29 gallon tank and do a fishless cycle. I added 4ppm of the ace hardware janitorial ammonia to the water 3 weeks ago. I purchased an API Master test kit and the ammonia levels are still exactly the same at 4ppm 3 weeks later as they were on day one. I also have 0 nitrites and 0 nitrates which would make sense since the ammonia has not broken down at all.

4 days ago i added a bottle of tetra safe start plus to the water to see if that would get things speeding along but it has not, ammonia is still at 4ppm.

I do not have anything to seed the tank with so i know the cycle will take longer but based off a lot that i have read i would think my ammonia levels would have dropped at least a little at this point. I do have a fluval 406 filter that has also been running since day 1, i have the water temp at 85 degrees, and i have a bubble wand in there as well.

Any ideas on what more i can do at this point should i do a water change to remove some of the ammonia and dose it back up to 4ppm or would that not make any difference?

Please help

Welcome to the site.

As usual I have more question of you than you asked of us. My first is: How do you know you added 4 ppm if you did not own a test kit at the time? Or did i misunderstand when you said you added the ammonia and then bought the test kit? Then-

1. What dechor are you using?
2. What are your tap parameters.
3. What is the expiration date on the test kits?
4. How are you testing for ammonia? (Testing mistakes = mistaken results.)
5. What are your pH and KH levels?
6. Aside from dechlor and ammonia, did you add anything else to the tank since day 1?