Fins damaged

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

kaz petts

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Just looking at my new baby, Kamikazee. I think she is a plakat but not too sure.
Here fins are a little ragged. They were like this when I got her.
She was in my lfs along with a male blue betta (not sure what breed, has a small rounded tail with no fringeing.) The lfs guy told me that he took her off a guy who no longer wanted bettas and he had a male and a female. I bought the male blue and was given Kamikazee. I took her as I wasn't going to turn this offer down and she looked like she needed a good home. I am new to keeping bettas but am going to do my best to make sure her fins grow back. They just look like they have been pecked at, they do not look like it is a disease that has caused the damage and she is perfectly healthy in her self. When I was given her she was in a tank on her own and looked so sorry for herself and wasn't really doing much. I brought her home, divided my tank and put her in. I opened the tank later that day to feed her and she made a very lively bid for freedom jumping clean out of her tank to the floor behind the video cabinet which I keep my betta tank on. I had to get the hubby to pull the cabinet away from the wall so that I could try and get to her. I thought that I would be finding a very dead fish. Imagine how amazed I was to find her laying still but breathing on the floor. When I went to pick her up she almost flipped herself into my hands where i gently picked her up and carefully placed her back in her section of the tank where she swam to the bottom to recooperate. I added stress coat to the tank and before long she was swimming around as if nothing had happened.
She now comes to the water surface whenever I open the lid but only sticks her head out and doesn't try to escape. Do you think she knows I don't want her to hurt herself?