Figure 8 Tank Mates

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Cdomick

Reaction score
Hey guys I am a novice hobbyist when it comes to fish and aquariums but am extremely excited for my first brackish tank. I have a 60 tank that I will be putting figure 8 puffers in. I know they do better off on their own and have thoroughly researched them. However I Wil be using a sand substrate and was wondering if a freshwater flounder would be a good tank mate. Both figure 8s and flounders have a fun biter reputation so I'm a little hesitant. Also I have started breeding snails in anticipation but obviously I won't have enough for some time for regular feedings does anyone have recommendations as far as food that will file their teeth until I have a decent supply of snails? Any advice is welcome!

Basically anything with a shell like shrimps, mussels and cockles.  Shrimps and mussels are said to contain Thiamanese (sp?) which reduces vitamin B levels so feed sparingly.

I wouldn't put a flounder in with a puffer, I had a flounder in with scats and they picked the thing to death and I reckon that the puffer would do the same.

puffers just bite no matter what I've tried a few different types with different tank mates and its just in their nature and they have a nasty bite

I've been quite lucky with my puffers, they've co-habited with bumblebee gobies, halfbeaks and waspfish without problem - apart from the halfbeak bullying them - but I wouldn't trust them with a flounder because it would be too tempting for them.

iliveinazoo said:
I've been quite lucky with my puffers, they've co-habited with bumblebee gobies, halfbeaks and waspfish without problem - apart from the halfbeak bullying them - but I wouldn't trust them with a flounder because it would be too tempting for them.
waspfish are ace not seen them for about 10 years!! Have you still got them?