feeling overwhelmed (with bad advice!)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

cavies

Reaction score
I am brand new to the hobby and have been seeking advice for the past few weeks.

I started by going to my LFS and speaking to a guy who I thought was knowledgeable. I asked specifically about corydoras as they really caught my eye. Unfortunately I was advised that a group of peppered cory would happily fit into a 57 litre tank. I went ahead and purchased a fluval flex 57 litre tank only to discover after a bit more research that it would be far from ideal!

Anyway, feeling a bit annoyed - at myself mostly, for getting carried away and buying the tank - I decided to visit a different store, the chap was pretty helpful and happy to talk. I showed him what I had previously bought and he said a group of panda corys could comfortably live in there with some small tetras...alarm bells started ringing again, surely the pandas would also be too big? on a side note, I did previously purchase some sand substrate intended for catfish so hopefully that's right at least!

I am getting so much conflicting advice! its incredibly frustrating. The dimensions of the tank are 16 x 15 x 15 inches, the lighting is 9w (LED) and I live in a hard water area, although I was told that soft water would not be needed as the fish were acclimated to hard water in the shop. I even asked if I could use bottled water, as silly as that may sound! but he said there was no need.

Any help would be appreciated as the enjoyment I initially felt is gradually diminishing!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

The surface area of your aquarium is the main problem. An aquarium that is 16 x 15inches doesn't have enough surface area for many fish, especially a group of Corydoras that like to move about a bit. If the tank was 2ft long x 15inches wide it would be better and 3ft long x 18inches wide would be great.